Upgrading Pegasus 3 HDDs to increase capacity

• Last Post 4 weeks ago
Andrew Turner posted this 20 September 2021

My Pegasus 3 4x3TB drive has been faultless but I am running out of space (I am a photographer with a lot of large images).  I currently have the R4 partitioned 50% for data files (and have used 4Tb of the 6) and 50% for Time Machine (used 5.3Tb of the 6).  With 1TB SSD on my iMac there isn't room in TM to do a complete new backup (needed after a recent issue with the Mac OS).  There are no old TM Backups available to delete. It looks as if two of the drives are used solely for data and the other two for TM.  Can I upgrade the capacity of both partitions by inserting new drives?  How should I move the data and TM backups across to the new drives?  Where can I obtain new drives?  Is there a max capacity (I am considering 4 x 6TB)?  What spec drives should I be lookng for?  Will any of this invalidate my warranty (still has a couple of years to go)?  Would I be better off buying another Pegasus for either data or TM and changing the current R4 into one drive, and can that even be done without losing eithe rthe files or the TM backups?  All advice useful!  Thank you.

Order By: Standard | Latest | Votes
Raghuraman Kannan posted this 21 September 2021

Hi Andrew,

You can consider upgrading the drives but once you do that, the current drives have to be archived and you cannot use both the old drives and the new drives at the same time. Also, the  Promise hardware warranty will be applicable only for the original drives and not for the newly replaced drives. You have to contact the vendor from whom you get the drives.

Given the situation, I would recommend you to buy another Pegasus unit and daisy chain with the existing device . This will give you the much needed space and it will allow you to move the data from existing unit to new unit. You can then setup one of the Pegasus solely for data and the other one for Time Machine backups .